Get The Most Out of Notion in 10 Minutes

The ultimate step-by-step beginner’s guide to setting up Notion without getting overwhelmed

The Electronic Pen
8 min readFeb 23, 2024
Made in Canva

Notion is a powerful but notoriously complicated and hard-to-get-started-with app.

When I first started using it, I gave up after my first five or so minutes.

But then a few days later, I came back to it, tried again, gave up, tried again, gave up, until eventually, it became the manager of my entire life.

I’ve been using it for years, and my hope for this article is that it can help you learn from my own mistakes so you don’t have to go through the trouble I did when starting your Notion journey.

So here’s how to not only set up your Notion, but to get real, true value out of it and start using it to manage your own life — all in ten minutes or less.

Sign up(1 minute)

Go to notion.so, click ‘Get Notion free’, and create your account.

You’ll be asked how you want to use Notion(for work, personal use, or education), which will affect the default pages shown to you, and…

--

--

The Electronic Pen

Writing. Technology. Entertainment. And that endless chase for productivity.