Notion vs. Obsidian vs. Anytype: The Ultimate Productivity App…?

A thorough comparison of three powerful productivity apps — which will take the throne?

The Electronic Pen
12 min readSep 5, 2024
Notion v. Obsidian v. Anytype

There are literally hundreds of productivity apps, but some of the biggest players in this field are Notion and Obsidian.

Anytype, on the other hand, isn’t as well-known, but it’s definitely growing in popularity, so I’ve decided to include it in this little comparison to answer the big question:

What is the best productivity app?

The plan

First, we’ll run through the overall core features of each app, just to get a feel for their major similarities and differences.

Then, we’ll put all three of them to the test and see how they actually function, how easy they are to work with, their intuitiveness, and their structure.

How will I do that?

Well, I’ve written out a structure for an average person’s productivity/note-taking needs, and I’m going to create that structure in all three apps.

After that, I’ll tell you how long it took, how easy it was, what features helped, etc.

And then, at the very end, I’ll give you my verdict on which one wins the title of…

--

--

The Electronic Pen

Writing. Technology. Entertainment. And that endless chase for productivity.